The News Wheel
No Comments

2015 F-150 Wins Truck of Texas Award

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page
2015 F-150 Wins Truck of Texas Award

2015 F-150 Wins Truck of Texas Award

In what could be a portent for things to come in January, the 2015 Ford F-150 was named the Truck of Texas by the Texas Auto Writers Association (TAWA) at the group’s annual Truck Rodeo.

The 9th Truck of Texas award in 12 years is particularly sweet for Ford given the length to which the automaker went in order to make the F-150 the best ever built, and it stands to reason that this victory foreshadows a victory at the 2015 North American Truck of the Year awards at NAIAS in a few short months.

“TAWA members represent the voice of truck buyers in Texas, America’s largest truck market,” said Mike Marrs, president of TAWA. “After exhaustively testing 75 vehicles from 18 brands, the all-new Ford F-150 is our clear choice for Truck of Texas.”

2015 Ford King Ranch

2015 Ford King Ranch


Ford added four additional awards for its all-new pickup truck. The Ford F-Series was named the Truck Line of Texas, the 2015 F-150 Platinum earned the title of Luxury Pickup Truck of Texas, and the 2015 F-150 King Ranch was named Full-Size Pickup Truck of Texas. The F-150’s use of high-strength aluminum alloy for both body and bed earned Ford the Best Technology Feature award.

Related: New 2015 Ford F-150 Will Shine with New Lightweight Aluminum Body

Not to be outdone, the 2015 Ford Transit was named Commercial Vehicle of Texas, making Ford a six-time winner at the 2014 TAWA Truck Rodeo.

2015 Ford Transit

“Transit delivers it all – better fuel economy, more capability, the largest number of technology choices, and the most innovative and diversified offering of configurations in a full-size van,” said Joe Hinrichs, Ford president, The Americas. “We’re honored TAWA members also have recognized Transit as a game changer for our hardworking commercial vehicle customers.”

The 2015 F-150 will be looking to take home the big prize in Detroit this January, and many are predicting that Ford will have its first sweep of the NACOTY and NATOTY awards since 2010 with the combined powers of the new F-150 and the 2015 Ford Mustang.

Related: 50th Anniversary of the Original Mustang Celebrated by Release of 2015 Model