The News Wheel
No Comments

Chevrolet Takes Home NASCAR Sprint Cup Manufacturers’ Championship

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page
A mechanical failure in Sunday's race at Dover cost Johnson a shot at his fifth championship

Photo: Dominic Aragon

You might have noticed something peculiar before last week’s big final NASCAR race for the Sprint Cup. Of the four drivers still racing for the championship title, three of them were driving Chevrolet vehicles. It comes as no big surprise, then, that Chevrolet is driving home with the NASCAR Sprint Cup Manufacturers’ Championship honors this season.

Are Trucks More Your Style? Learn why Chevrolet unveiled a new 2016 Silverado

The victory was decided without a doubt when Dale Earnhardt Jr took the checkered flag at the Quicken Loans Race For Heroes 500 at Phoenix International Raceway on November 15th. Like the Sprint Cup itself, the manufacturers of the stock car race vehicles receive points based on where their cars finish in a race. This victory is a testament to the engineering research that goes into each car when it is built, and its maintenance by the race teams as the season goes on.

How Much Do You Really Know: Check your basic car care knowledge

What makes this victory even sweeter is that it is the 13th year in a row that Chevy has won the award, beating out Toyota, a relatively new NASCAR manufacturer, and Ford.  In all, Chevy has won the Manufacturers’ Championship 39 times, and the third time Chevy has won while using the Chevrolet SS as a base for the NASCAR race car.

With racers on Team Chevy like Martin Truex Jr., Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kevin Harvick, and Jimmie Johnson, we expect another dominating season for the automaker next year.