The News Wheel
No Comments

NASCAR Recap: Kenseth Dominates The Field At Richmond

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page
Kenseth picked up the win at Richmond in the regular season finale.

Driver Matt Kenseth picked up his 35th career win in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series at Richmond on September 12th
Photo: © James Marvin Phelps

Veteran NASCAR driver Matt Kenseth couldn’t be touched this past Saturday night at Richmond International Speedway, leading 352 of 400 laps, in route to his fourth Sprint Cup Series win of 2015.

The win ties Kenseth with Chevrolet driver Jimmie Johnson and Toyota racer Kyle Busch for the series lead with four wins a piece. The win also marked the 43-year-old Kenseth’s 35th career victory in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series.

Busch finished runner-up to Kenseth, while Joey Logano finished third. In fourth was the No. 43 Ford driven by Aric Almirola, while team Chevy driver Dale Earnhardt Jr. rounded out the top-five.

Saturday’s race also marked the conclusion of the Sprint Cup Series’ regular season. The 16 drivers that qualified for the NASCAR playoffs are Jimmie Johnson, Kyle Busch, Matt Kenseth, Joey Logano, Kevin Harvick, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kurt Busch, Carl Edwards, Brad Keselowski, Martin Truex Jr., Denny Hamlin, Jamie McMurray, Jeff Gordon, Ryan Newman, Paul Menard, and Clint Boyer.

Amazingly, Kyle Busch was able to make the playoffs after missing the first 11 races of the season with a broken leg. Because the points reset for the playoffs, Busch jumped from 27th  to second in the standings on the strength of his four victories.

Clint Boyer was also happy to make the playoffs because it will allow him to showcase his skills since he is need of a job for next season, after Michael Waltrip Racing announced it will be shutting down operations after 2015.

Danny Hamlin, who was racing with a torn ACL, finished an impressive sixth in Saturday’s race at Richmond.

Next week, the Sprint Cup Series will be visiting Chicagoland Speedway for the first race of the NASCAR Chase for the Sprint Cup. The race is scheduled to start at 3pm Eastern time on September 20th and will be broadcast by NBCSN.

Video: Kenseth Wins Regular Season Finale