The News Wheel
No Comments

NHTSA Awards 2015 Toyota Camry Safety Rating of Five Stars

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page
2015 Toyota Camry safety

2015 Toyota Camry

The 2015 Toyota Camry has been in the news a lot lately. The redesigned model was released for sale back in September, and netted Toyota a 14% increase in sales of the midsize sedan the very next month. Along with its release came a slew of commercials designed to attract a younger demographic to the model. And now, 2015 Toyota Camry safety has been legitimized by earning a five-star rating from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).

The government agency put the 2015 Camry through a variety of crash tests, including front, side, and rollover. The Camry received four stars in the front crash test, five stars in the side crash test, and four stars in the rollover crash test, for an overall safety rating of five stars.

What Car? See why the Toyota Mirai won the 2016 What Car? Technology Award

2015 Toyota Camry safety

The 2015 Camry is about as safe as they come

Some of the standard features that make the Camry a five-star pick include 10 airbags, vehicle stability control, traction control, antilock brakes, and brake assist. Drivers can opt for additional features to make the Camry even safer, such as a pre-collision system, adaptive cruise control, lane departure alert, and blind spot monitor.

On top of its five-star rating from the NHTSA, the 2015 Camry was also named a Top Safety Pick+ by the independent Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS).

The Camry is set to get even safer next year when Toyota introduces new optional safety packages across its entire lineup. The automaker claims these packages will be affordable in order to encourage widespread use among its drivers.

Gird Your Loins: Take a look at these photos of the 2016 Toyota Prius