Reckless Driving Carries Differing Penalties across the Country
Driving recklessly is never a good idea anytime or anywhere. It puts everyone, including you, at risk. And some states, such as Delaware and Oregon, throw down severe punishments if you’re caught driving like a reckless fool.
“If you are convicted of reckless driving in Delaware, the first offense carries a fine between $100 to $300, between 10 and 30 days in jail — or both. For every subsequent offense that occurs within three years of a prior offense, the fine increases to between $300 to $1,000, and between 30 and 60 days in jail,” reports How Stuff Works writer Cherise Threewitt.
Compared to the rates in other states, reckless driving charges in Oregon are exceptionally costly.
“The average maximum cost of a ticket for reckless driving is $845, with the lowest being $100 (in Kentucky, Mississippi, New Mexico, and Ohio) and the highest at approximately $6,250,” reports WalletHub senior researcher Alina Comoreanu.
Some states’ interpretation of reckless driving can vary from case to case. Comoreanu reports that approximately 52% of states don’t use a specific mph to determine reckless driving. Virginia, however, doesn’t leave room for interpretation when it comes to this dangerous offense.
Check Out: Mitsubishi’s advanced safety features
“You can get charged with reckless driving for simply exceeding 80 mpg anywhere in the state, or for exceeding the posted speed limit by 20 mph,” Threewitt reports. “A reckless driving ticket in Virginia will cost you up to $2,500, plus up to a year in jail, and you could also lose your license for up to six months.”