The News Wheel
No Comments

Bo’ness Hill Climb Revival Wins Jim Clark Memorial Award

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

The Jim Clark Memorial Award 2016

This year’s Jim Clark Memorial Award, sponsored by Ford and handed out by the Association of Scottish Motoring Writers, was bestowed upon the Bo’ness Hill Climb Revival. The award, named for the British Formula One legend who had won more Grand Prix races and poles at the time of his death than any other before him, is giving to Scots doing their part to contribute to motorsport.

The two men behind the Bo’ness Hill Climb Revival are Bill Drysdale and Kenny Baird, who were on-hand to accept the trophy. Drysdale and Baird were integral to the formation of the car club in 2007, which has over the course of nine years accumulated 200 members and worked to restore the original Bo’ness Hill Climb track that was used for races from 1932-1966. Clark won the 1959 hill climb.

Need a Quick Quote? Try Black Book’s Credit Score Estimator

“Bill and Kenny are two of the leading lights that have helped bring the historic Bo’ness Hill Climb Revival back to life and we are delighted to recognize the tireless work of the committee by presenting them with this year’s Jim Clark Memorial Award,” said Stephen Park, president of the Association of Scottish Motoring Writers.

“On behalf of the Bo’ness Hill Climb Revival committee, we are honored to receive the prestigious Jim Clark Award” said Baird. “We are extremely proud of Scotland’s contribution to motor racing and it is very satisfying to see our hard work recognized in this way and we hope to build on this success in future years.”

Previous recipients of the award include Jackie Stewart, Graham Brunton, and Scottish Ford engineer Andrew Fraser, who was key in the development of the 1.0-liter EcoBoost engine.

Looking for a Good Deal? See current national incentives and offers