The News Wheel
No Comments

Chevrolet Runs Away With Fourth Consecutive IndyCar Manufacturer Championship

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page


2015 Chevy IndyCar Aero Package

2015 Chevy IndyCar Aero Package

No manufacturer can stop the Chevrolet IndyCar fleet. Since returning to the series in 2012, the motorsport brand has won the coveted manufacturer championship every season. Before the return in 2012, Chevrolet had participated in IndyCar racing from 1986-1993 and briefly from 2002-2005. This year the new 2015 Chevrolet Aero package and V6 IndyCar engine program came together to earn nine wins and 16 pole position starts, more than any other automaker.

One of those victories was an Indianapolis 500 triumph by Juan Pablo Montoya. Montoya also won the Streets of St. Petersburg race. Three other Chevrolet drivers, Scott Dixon, Josef Newgarden, and Sebastien Bourdais, won two races apiece this season. Chevrolet is the driving force behind four race teams: Team Penske, Chip Ganassi Racing, CFH Racing, and KV Racing.

Chevrolet has also been the vehicle of choice for two driver championship winners, most recently Will Power in 2014.

“It is a proud moment for Chevrolet to win the 2015 Verizon IndyCar Series Manufacturer Championship,” Mark Kent, director of Chevrolet Racing remarked. “This title is the result of a collaborative and cooperative effort by Chevrolet, Ilmor Engineering, Hitachi, Pratt & Miller Engineering and all of our Chevy teams that worked tirelessly to make this fourth consecutive championship possible.”

News Source: Autoweek