The News Wheel
No Comments

Disobeying the Speed Limit Can Bring Varying Punishments in the US

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Speeding is against the law everywhere in the United States. Not only do you put yourself and other drivers at risk when you disobey the speed limit, you’re also likely to get caught by a law enforcement official. And depending what state you’re breaking the speeding law in will determine your punishment.

Learn More: About the 2018 Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross

According to WalletHub, which analyzed the driving laws in the District of Colombia and the 50 states, absolute speed limits are found in D.C. and nearly three-quarters of the United States; you will be convicted if you go over the speed limit. Some states, though, have their own way of handling speeders.

“About 26% of the states leave room for interpretation with ‘prima’ laws — or a ‘mixed’ combination of absolute and prima facie rules — allowing speeders to argue in court that their speed was in fact reasonable,” reports WalletHub senior researcher Alina Comoreanu.

If you’ve ever dreamed of being a race car driver, you’ll get closer to your dream if you go over by 10 mph in New Jersey, reports How Stuff Works writer Cherise Threewitt.

“You could be charged with ‘racing on public highways,’” she notes. “That seems like a pretty loose interpretation of the term ‘racing,’ because the police don’t have to prove you were actually racing anyone. But the law taps into the state’s disdain of street racing culture.”

If you are found guilty of “racing,” Threewitt said you’ll have a lot to deal with including fines, increased insurance rates, and the possibility of losing your license for as long as 30 days.

In Georgia, a Super Speeder ticket is given out to drivers who exceed 85 mph on any Georgia highway or road or 75 mph or more on a road with two lanes, reports Threewitt.

“If you get a Super Speeder ticket, you’ll have to pay any fines and fees that apply based on where you were speeding, PLUS a $200 flat fee to the state of Georgia. If you fail to pay the $200 fine within 120 days of the ticket, your license will be suspended until you pay another $50 to the state (plus all your fines) to have it reinstated,” she reports.

Check Out: The features on the 2018 Mitsubishi Outlander

When you think no one’s watching and you think it’s safe to speed, Comoreanu reminds you that speed cameras are utilized in D.C. and 42% of states.

News Source: WalletHub, How Stuff Works