The News Wheel
No Comments

1.0-Liter EcoBoost Named 2014 International Engine of the Year

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page
2014 International Engine of the Year

2014 International Engine of the Year: the 1.0-liter EcoBoost

LeBron James and the Heat may have come up just a bit short of a three-peat (and by just a bit short we mean that they got walloped in the most one-sided series in NBA Finals history), but the Ford 1.0-liter EcoBoost engine had no such trouble throttling the competition for the title of 2014 International Engine of the Year. With this being the third straight year that the engine has taken home the award, it’s fair to say that Ford has a dynasty on its hands (and it didn’t even have to gather a supposed super-team in South Beach to do so).

“This year’s competition was the fiercest yet, but the 1.0-liter EcoBoost continues to stand out for all the right reasons – great refinement, surprising flexibility and excellent efficiency,” said Dean Slavnich, co-chairman, 16th International Engine of the Year awards and editor, Engine Technology International magazine. “The 1.0-liter EcoBoost engine is one of the finest examples of powertrain engineering.”

The 1.0-liter EcoBoost engine, which is available in the Ford Fiesta and in the upcoming 2015 Ford Focus, has won 13 major awards to date, including:

  • 2012, 2013, 2014 International Engine of the Year
  • 2012 Best New Engine
  • 2013 International Paul Pietsch Award
  • Dewar Trophy (Royal Automobile Club)
  • Breakthrough Award (Popular Mechanics)
  • Ward’s 10 Best Engines

The 2014 International Engine of the Year award was determined by a panel of 82 automotive journalists from 35 countries, who also named the 1.0-liter EcoBoost engine the Best Engine Under 1.0-Liter for the third year. So, technically, it’s a double three-peater. LeBron should take notes.