The News Wheel
No Comments

Project Yellow Light Winners Announced

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Project Yellow Light

The winners of the third annual Project Yellow Light scholarship contest were announced earlier this month as part of Global Youth Traffic Safety Month™. The contest—organized by the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT), Mazda Motorsports, National Organizations for Youth Safety (NOYS), and the Ad Council—awards high school and college-age students who produce short videos that illuminate the dangers of distracted driving.

First place winners in Project Yellow Light receive $5,000 in scholarship funding. This year’s high school grand prize was awarded to Dylan Malburg of Grand Rapids, Michigan. The college grand prize was awarded to the duo of Paul Price and Josh Falkum, both of whom are students at the Savannah College of Art & Design.

Second and third place prizes were awarded to high school students Henry DaCosta and Yunmei Li and college students Andy Checketts and Bethany Faile, who receive scholarships totaling $2,000 and $1,000, respectively. All six award-winning entries can be viewed in the player below:

“We are thrilled with this year’s winners and the talent they are lending to the critical message of distracted driving,” said Julie Garner, Founder of Project Yellow Light, in a press release. “Project Yellow Light is grateful to our participants, sponsors and the amazing bevy of VIP judges – all who volunteer their time to help save lives. From the world of racing, our judges include – CJ Wilson, Dutch Mandel, Ben Albano, and Tristan Nunez. And from the media, production, advertising and entertainment realm – Kweku Mandela, Wendy Clark, Matt Williams, Jeff Goodby, Helayne Spivak and Aloe Blacc.”

Project Yellow Light

Hunter Garner, son of Project Yellow Light founder Julie Garner, passed away in 2007 in an auto accident.

Garner established Project Yellow light in 2007 in memory of her son, Hunter, who was killed in a car accident that same year. This year’s contest ran from October 31, 2013 through March 17, 2014 and received over 400 submissions.