The News Wheel
No Comments

NASCAR Recap: Dale Earnhardt Jr. Eliminated From NASCAR Playoffs

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page
A late crash gave Joey Logano the win Sunday at Talladega. Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished 2nd and was eliminated from the playoffs.

Fans of Dale Earnhardt Jr. will have to wait another year for the chance at a title
Photo: Robert Mathers

When the final restart of the race was called off before driver Joey Logano made it to the starting line because cars were wrecking, the driver cried foul, implying that NASCAR only made that call to give fan favorite Dale Earnhardt Jr. another shot to win the race.

“You gotta be kidding me,” Logano said over the radio. “That was an attempt! Junior rules, that’s what those are.”

Road Trip: Check out this list of the five Florida theme parks you need to visit

In the end, Logano was eventually named the winner of Sunday’s race at Talladega, after Kevin Harvick ignited another wreck on the race’s last restart, which brought out the caution flag. Logano was deemed the race leader at the time of the wreck and was proclaimed the winner.

Earnhardt finished second and legendary driver Jeff Gordon came in third. Brad Keselowski and Carl Edwards completed the top five.

Several drivers implied that Harvick purposely caused the wreck, so the race would finish under caution. The engine in Harvick’s car was failing and he could not accelerate as quickly as his competition. By virtue of the wreck, Harvick was able to finish 15th and ensured his spot in the third round of NASCAR’s playoffs.

“The (no. 4 car) could only run about 30 miles an hour, I think he saw people coming and he knew he was so probably going to be 30th, the last car on the lead lap, so he caused the wreck,” said driver Denny Hamlin, who was eliminated from the playoffs after getting caught up in the final wreck.

Harvick has denied causing the wreck on purpose.

The eight drivers who advanced to the third round of the playoffs are: Logano, Harvick, Kyle Busch, Edwards, Gordon, Kurt Busch, Keselowski, and Martin Truex Jr.

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series will be visiting Martinsville Speedway on Sunday, November 1st. The race is scheduled to begin at 1:15 pm and will be broadcast by NBCSN.

Video: Joey Logano Talks About His Third Consecutive Win

Safe Driving: The dangers of using a cell phone while driving are worse than you thought

News Sources: ESPN, Fox Sports