John Baden
No Comments

New Year, New Road Laws for California in 2019

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page
Police Car

Photo: Pexels

Mandatory temporary license plates for vehicles driven off car lots are not the only thing that is changing out West. Check out these other new road laws for California in 2019.

Noisy is costly

Roads are to likely get quieter with a new noise law. That is the plan at least. Any owner of a car that features a loud exhaust or muffler system will receive a fine with no questions asked.

DUIs get another pair of eyes

Instead of suspending or revoking driver licenses of first-time or repeat DUI offenders, California drivers will be able to drive on a restricted license, but there is a catch. The state requires each lawbreaker to install an ignition interlock device in his or her car. This system will require him or her to blow into a calibrated alcohol detecting machine to start his or her vehicle.

Helmets and scooters

Motorized scooter drivers over 18 years old will no longer have to wear helmets. Anybody younger who does not wear one while biking, scooting, skateboarding, or skating, will get a “fix-it” ticket. With the exception of bike paths, scooter drivers can no longer access highways with a speed limit greater than 25 mph.


More Horsepower: Check out the muscle the Mitsubishi Outlander Sport packs under the hood


Dangerously loaded questions

If your kids are getting ready to take their driving test, tell them to study up on vehicle cargo. The California DMV plans to feature at least one question about driving laws regarding unsafe loads in about 20 percent of tests. In case you are wondering, all car loads must be fully covered and properly secured.

Passing trash trucks

If its amber lights are flashing, you should give the refuse collection vehicle as much space as possible. Use the neighboring lane, and pass at a safe distance. If you cannot get into another lane, drive at a slow, manageable speed.


Learn Why: The Mitsubishi Outlander is the safe pick for your daily commute


Hit and stop

Cyclists on bike paths will join drivers on California’s felony hit-and-run laws. Both groups must stop if their collision results in death or injury to another person in the crash.

Source: Mercury News, ABC 30