The News Wheel
No Comments

2019 Nissan Rogue Earns Advanced Rating for Pedestrian Detection Tech from IIHS

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page
2019 Nissan Rogue SV

Nissan has always been ahead of the game with safety technologies and driver assist features, and now the 2019 Nissan Rogue has earned an advanced rating for its standard Automatic Emergency Braking with Pedestrian Detection technology from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety.

Learn More: About the 2019 Nissan Rogue

“Reducing pedestrian crashes is the goal of new IIHS ratings of automatic emergency braking systems that can detect and brake for people on foot,” reports the agency. “The ratings come amid renewed focus on the problem of crashes involving pedestrians. Autobrake systems that can detect and brake for pedestrians are one important countermeasure to address the problem.”

Testing vehicles for its quality of pedestrian autobrake systems is new for the agency, following testing guidelines for rear crash prevention technologies that began in 2018. 2016 marked IIHS’ testing on headlights and evaluations of front crash prevention systems started in 2013.

Vehicles equipped with pedestrian autobrake technology have the opportunity to earn a superior, advanced, or basic rating. It was important to the IIHS to include this new testing criteria in order to better inform consumers and help guide automotive manufacturers.

“We want to encourage manufacturers to include pedestrian detection capabilities as they equip more of their vehicles with automatic emergency braking systems,” said David Aylor, the IIHS’ manager of Active Safety Testing. “We also want to arm consumers with information about these systems so they can make smart choices when shopping for a new vehicle.”

Check Out: The 2018 Nissan Rogue

The 2019 Nissan Rogue is available at five trim levels: S, SV, SV Hybrid, SL, and SL Hybrid. In addition to the advanced-rated Automatic Emergency Braking with Pedestrian Detection technology, the Rogue also offers additional driver assist systems such as Blind Spot Warning, Intelligent Lane Intervention, and Rear Cross Traffic Alert as standard features.

News Source: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety