The News Wheel
No Comments

Jimmie Johnson and Chevy Take the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Championship

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page
NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Championship

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Championship

If you follow NASCAR or sports at all, you’re used to seeing No. 48 atop the podium, and you saw it again last weekend, as Jimmie Johnson won the 2013 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship once again.  The distinction marks the record sixth time in just eight years that Johnson ended the season with more points than any other driver, and he did so as he always does behind the wheel of a Chevy.

Thanks to the success of Johnson, as well as the rest of its team of talented drivers, Chevy earned its 29th NSCS driver’s championship, but the Detroit automaker also won its 37th Manufacturer’s Cup thanks to a total of 16 wins by Team Chevy drivers.

“Congratulations to Jimmie Johnson… and the No. 48 Lowe’s Chevrolet SS team on winning a remarkable sixth NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship,” said Jim Campbell, Chevrolet U.S. Vice President, Performance Vehicles and Motorsports, in a press release. “Preparation, strategy, teamwork and great driving were key elements of the No. 48 team’s success this season.”

“The Hendrick engine shop along with our powertrain engineers prepared Chevrolet-Hendrick V8 engines that delivered the right combination of power, fuel economy and reliability all season long,” added Campbell.

It took Jimmie Johnson only eight seasons to secure six NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship victories.  How long will it take him to get his seventh?  Give us your best guess in the comment below!