The News Wheel
No Comments

NHTSA Gives 5-Star Overall Safety Ratings to Trio of 2020 Buick SUVs

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page
Buick Encore
The Buick Encore
Photo: Buick

Three of Buick’s 2020 SUV models have received 5-Star Overall Safety Ratings from the NHTSA, extending the brand’s reputation for trustworthy performance and protection.

NHTSA’s Overall Safety Rating combines scores from crash testing in three categories:

  • The Frontal Crash rating combines scores from front driver-side and front passenger-side tests, which measure the effects of a head-on collision at 35 mph.
  • The Side Crash rating is made up of scores from side barrier testing, which measures the effects of a side-impact collision, and side pole testing, which replicates a crash into a tree or utility pole.
  • The Rollover rating uses testing to measure the risk of the vehicle rolling over if the driver loses control.

Luxurious Updates: Buick Enclave gets sophisticated upgrades for 2020

The Buick Enclave
Photo: Buick

The Buick Encore, Envision, and Enclave each achieved five stars for their overall crashworthiness, along with a combination of four- and five-star ratings in the three main testing categories.

The 2020 Encore, a subcompact SUV, received four stars in Rollover testing, along with five stars for Frontal Crash and Side Crash testing. The Encore also comes with available forward collision warning and lane departure warning recommended by the NHTSA.

The 2020 Envision, a midsize SUV, got four stars for Rollover and Frontal Crash protection and five stars in Side Crash testing. Recommended forward collision warning and lane departure warning systems are offered as options for the Envision.

The 2020 Enclave, a large three-row SUV, also got four stars in Rollover and Front Crash testing and five stars for Side Crash protection. Lane departure warning and forward collision warning are included as available features.

Find Your Next Ride: Shop-Click-Drive makes buying a new vehicle easy

News Source: NHTSA